The decade of the component

Very interesting blog by Ralf about the future of components in design. I have been pondering for a while on guidance on how we structure within a process as opposed to between processes. It seems to me that a lot of guidance is focused on the distributed context, but people are either not applying anything within a process, or mis-applying distributed models there. Instead, within the process I think people should be looking at interfaces, inversion of control, dependency injection, containers etc to provide low-coupling, and high-cohesion. I will post more on this when I get a chance to organize my thoughts, but I’m concerned that the service oriented patterns are being leveraged within a process, much as the old component based patterns were incorrectly leveraged across process boundaries.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

